Stourbridge Golf Club was formed in 1892 progressing from the original 9 holes laid out on the former Pedmore racecourse to 18 holes in 1909. The basic outline of that course remains today, measuring 6,231 yards with a standard scratch score of 70 for men and 73 for ladies. During the early 1920’s the club, largely through the Humphries’ family, became a leading competitor in Midland & Worcestershire golf events. But the name of Stourbridge really came to light nationally in 1927 when Dr. William Tweddell won the Amateur Championship and Eric Fiddian the Boys’ Championship. International honours followed when Dr Tweddell was appointed Captain of the British Walker Cup team and in 1934 Eric Fiddian was selected for the Walker Cup team having won the English Amateur Championship in 1932. In 1961, Dr. Tweddell was elected Captain of the Royal & Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews. Other members of the Stourbridge Golf Club have been involved in the administration of golf at National level. W.C. I (Bill) Boulton as President of the English Golf Union and Denis Hayes as Chairman of the General Committee & Rules of Golf Committee of the Royal & Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews. Our Ladies section has also created their own mark by winning the Midland Championship through Miss B Laws and Miss M Fieldhouse (later to become Mrs Eric Fiddian) and many County Championships. In addition, Mrs E Baker became Chairman of the Ladies’ Golf Union and Mrs M Hayes & Mrs B Denton were both Chairman of the English Ladies Golf Association (now EWGA).

Stourbridge Golf Club – steeped in history and highly respected at Regional & National Level

Loading the Calendar...
Course Status
Currently open
23.05.2024 05:31
View Status
Please repair pitchmarks.
Book a Tee Time
Ready to book?

Our booking system will make it easy for you.